Peavine Cabins

Greetings from Peavine cabin.  That’s me on the porch waving to you.  The camera is on a ten second self timer.  I produced this picture in one take, but nearly broke my ankle running from the tripod to the camera.  Actually, I didn’t hurt my ankle in any way.  I just had to run really fast through a dry creekbed, which presented the possibility of ankle injury.  Which is all a convoluted way to say, hey, look at this cool picture of me on the porch at a cabin.  Dig?

Here’s another view of the cabin with the alpine glow illuminating the ridgeline.  Whimsical, isn’t it?  This cabin is one of two free public use cabins maintained by the Park Service at the Peavine area.  In late August I spent a few nights by myself out at the cabin.

Well, maybe I wasn’t entirely by myself.  Here are some recent claw marks on the front of the door.  What could’ve done that?

This is the other cabin that sleeps eight people.  For a few days a bizarre rainbow storm ascended on the valley.

In the ridges behind the cabins there are a few waterfalls.  Here’s another self-timer shot, this time over dangerous slippery rocks.  Next equipment purchase: shutter remote.

Now that I’ve used captions throughout this post I feel committed to them.  Consistency!  Here are some mountains in Alaska.  Oooo . . . . Ahhhh . . . .

Looking down on the Chitistone River.

Hiking up a rock slide.  Interesting fact:  In the full-length Simpsons Movie, the family escapes to Alaska.  I know this because my co-worker is watching the movie on the other side of the room.

In case there’s any ambiguity, this is a picture of trees.  These are trees featured on a blog that’s grudgingly created by some guy out in Alaska for the purpose of sharing pictures of trees and mountains with his friends and family.  So, enjoy the trees for a moment.

The lighting at dusk in this picture is symbolic of the ending of the blog post.  The swirling ethereal clouds suggest the impermanence of natural beauty and, by extension, the importance of documentation through photography and blogging.  The dynamic play between light and shadow also speaks of the inherent nonsense that comes with providing captions for pictures online, especially on a blog created by someone in Alaska who takes a lot of pictures.  This picture is actually of the mountaintops up river from the Peavine area.  I took about a hundred similar shots while waiting for the plane to pick me up.  Conclusion: Good times!

5 thoughts on “Peavine Cabins

Add yours

  1. hi mike, the photography continues to be outstanding, the cabin and rainbow are breathtaking, as your previous hikers stated,never hike alone.. looking forward to seeing you upon your return,, take care and love from pete and shar..

  2. I don’t know…that self portrait of you in the yellow raincoat..your butt looks really girly… nice shot otherwise..lol haha had to give you a hard time. LOVELY pictures.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

